The School Run Subscription.

So this morning my littlest girl decided 6am was a good time to wake up Mummy! We are currently snuggled in blankets watching good old Peppa Pig and I thought it would be a great opportunity to do another blog post.

One thing that has really helped us through the Home Education journey are the HE groups that are available on Facebook. These enable you to hear about, connect with & communicate with other home educating families. For anyone who visits my blog who is interested in or considering Home Education I really recommend taking a look at these groups too. I am sure you will learn so many useful things & if you ever have a question, feel free to ask it. The groups I visit the most are Home Education/Schooling Worldwide & Home Education West Yorkshire. Just do a simple Facebook search and you should find them.

I am always looking for new ways to teach and support my daughter in her education so I regularly head to the HE Facebook groups to search for useful websites that other HE families use. It was actually a fellow HE mum that recommended TheSchoolRun and once I had taken a look at the site myself, I was really grateful that she had. It works really well for my eldest daughter (currently age 5 & working at KS1 level) and I can see it being a useful resource whether you Home Educate or have children in school.

the-school-run-logo

TheSchoolRun Review                           (www.theschoolrun.com)

TheSchoolRun is a website that offers information, activities and advice on what children are being taught in schools between the ages of 4 and 11 years of age. This enables parents to support & understand their child’s learning. I understand that some HE choose not to follow the curriculum however I still feel TheSchoolRun could still work for you. There are so many resources available covering Maths, English, Science and other subjects so if your child is showing a particular interest in a certain topic I am sure you will find something that is useful.

Their are over 500 downloadable worksheets from reception through to Year 6 which are free to download. You do just need to register first. If you choose to subscribe you will be able to download over 5000 worksheets, learning packs and learning journeys too. For any Home Educators that are interested in a subscription send them an email at  enquiries@theschoolrun.com and advise them you HE and a discount is available. It definitely is worth it. img_5141

There are many different ways that you can use TheSchoolRun resources. If you choose to subscribe many of the Maths & English worksheets are interactive so they can be filled in online if this is how your child prefers to work. As my daughter is very hands on and creative, we print off the worksheets, cut them out & stick them into the specific exercise books. We currently have exercise books for English, Maths & Science. I find this helps to keep her attention for longer periods of time and because she enjoys doing the worksheets, she takes in the information much more efficiently.

I have looked at many educational websites to support us during our Home Educating journey and this has to be one of my favorites. It is easy to navigate, the resources are fantastic quality & most importantly I have found a learning method that works really well for my daughter. I have also discovered that they are working on creating a tailored pack specifically for Home Educators so I am really excited to see what that is all about.

I highly recommend all parents (whether your children are home educated or in school) to give this website a go. You can take out a 14 day trial subscription for £1.97 which will enable you to download over 40 learning packs covering core National Curriculum topics including times tables, grammar, spelling, SATs, phonics and more. You can then decide if it works for you, if not you can cancel this subscription at any time within the 14 day period.

Visit http://www.theschoolrun.com for more information!

I hope you’ve found this review useful. We have a day out planned at the National Railway Museum today so I better go & get the girls ready.

Happy Sunday!

x J x

 

Leave a Reply

